Anecdote Project · Daily Prompts

Not as sweet as the scent of the flowers

I was in college when I got a little desperate about love. I used to think that getting into a relationship is just like in fairy tales  – “And they lived happily ever after” but I didn’t across my mind that there’s also a dark side of it and I didn’t notice it before it was too late.

I was too naïve to see all the signs because I thought that he will be my forever despite knowing him for a week and the age gap; I also gave him everything.

I don’t regret that I lost my virginity to him but I was in great pain to see all the effort that I sacrificed simply vanished – gone without a trace. I tried everything just to contact him but all of them are all dead ends.

It was a 2nd week of May when I got an answer from him but it seems that he already forgotten me and move on to someone else; that is where I hit rock bottom – I struggled Depression for 3 months, I don’t how I got healed in that hellish ordeal, I never told my family or friends about that, it was an emotional, personal and school life endurance for me.

I remember that I just woke up from a deep sleep and I don’t have to struggle with it anymore.

After that ordeal, I learned that love is not all about walking in a straight path filled with flowers, rainbows and unicorns; it’s all about  years of trust, communication, give & take relationship and finding each other’s happiness.

It might not be as good as everybody’s firsts love stories but that event changed me – I become a mature person.

3 thoughts on “Not as sweet as the scent of the flowers

  1. I completely understand your disappointment. I think it is wonderful that you OVERCAME it – you pulled through and became STRONGER because of it. As far as I am concerned, it is HIS loss, not yours!

    Next, this post should be emotionally charged. I mean, there is love, there is gifting your virginity to someone who didn’t cherish it, and there is a huge disappointment resulting in depression.

    Put yourself on the side of the reader. How do you feel when you read it? Does it pull you in emotionally. Does it make you sad? Does it make you angry? If not, then it should!

    Try rewriting this with the REAL emotions you felt at the time the incidents occurred. (Hmmm, I’m not sure if using the present tense instead of the past tense will work better or not, but you can try it).

    This is just my humble opinion, and someone else may come by and say something completely different.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello! I also feel that my entry here is somewhat restrict and having grammatical problems because I’m trying relive the feelings that I felt 7 years ago. 😦

      Thank you so much for the wonderful advice and I’ll try to do better next time / rewrite it with real emotions this time! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

